Call for Helen Kemp Award Nominations

The Conference Planning Committee for the 2024 Eastern Region Conference is  accepting nominations for The Helen Kemp Lifetime Achievement Award to be presented in February at the Eastern Region ACDA conference in Providence.  The award will honor an individual who has made a unique and extraordinary contribution to the field of choral music within the Eastern Region.  

Penelope Cruz, Immediate Past-President of the Eastern Region, will collect the nominations and then send them out to the review committee consisting of the current president, president-elect, a past president, and one past recipient of the award.  They will review the materials and make the final decision. The person will be invited to receive the award at the conference and a plaque will be presented.  

1. The nominee must have been involved in choral music making for at least 25 years and connected with the American Choral Directors Association.

2.  Nominees can be conductors/teachers of any type of ensemble doing choral music: of any age, situation, and genre. 

3.  Nominations should include a professional bio and a full statement about the person’s qualifications for the award.  Supporting reference letters are welcome.

Please send your nominations and any supporting reference letters to Penelope Cruz,  by November 1, 2023

Past winners of the Helen Kemp Lifetime Achievement Award:

2022: Andre de Quadros
2020: Marguerite Brooks
2018: Joseph Flummerfelt
2016: Alan Harler
2014: E. Wayne Abercrombie
2012: Amy Story
2010: Helen Kemp